Baldrik

Hello and help!

Hello i'm new to big rigs well, i built one many years ago as a display model when they were first out,this was just the kit. Having done most r/c areas including heli's i'm now looking at a rig.The one in question is http://banzaihobby.com/radio-control/tamiya-rc-cars/tamiya-1-14-trucks-trailer/scania-r620-6x4-highline-full-operation-kit?cPath=205&zenid=255up53ragjki55oksnqic8hv3

This bundle includes a Futaba 4 channel radio as i'm ordering an MFU and lights should i use this radio or order a Carson 6 channel radio? What MFU? Is this a good deal? I'm open to all suggestions including where and what to buy, within reason as i wish to buy all needed then hopefully build!!

Welcome to the wallet emptying forum ;)

I've not dabbled with Tamiya trucks yet but in terms of buying..

95% of the time you won't beat Banzai pricing, but do factor the total cost after shipping , import duty, VAT and courier handling charge (if you are in the UK). Import charges and vat are charged on the total declared cost (item declared value plus shipping fee of ca $150).

Given the size and weight of the box(es) you probably have a 50:50 chance of charges. Even with a declared item value of say $150 then you'll be liable to charges on ca $300 which is likely to work out around £60. Add that to the US$700 total purchase price when comparing costs to European suppliers (modellbau-seidel, Tamico ). Absolute worst case would be if the package was fully inspected by customs, uin which case you will be asked for evidence of the price you paid (ie order form invoice) and charges applied to that true value - at $700 value, you'd be looking at ca £100 charges; even in this worst case scenario that might still be enough to purchase overseas, and if you avoid charges then even better :D