crazydave306

My first hornet rc build

Hi all I'm new to this but I brought a tamiya hornet and what a great kit

But I'm looking at upgrading a few things and was hoping for your friendly advice

Me and a few mates have just brought the same cars and want to be very

Competitive with each other. Ovestly I want the best car...... So I'm calling

For your help? I'm thinking front suspension upgrade and rear???? Any

Good ones out there?also I see the front stearing rack is crap wish bones

Etc etc any help on what I could buy? Don't mind cutting chassis to fit

Look forward to hearing what you recommend 😀

Welcome to TC!

I'm talking honestly to you: There's no use in trying to upgrade the Hornet other than ball bearings and maybe a 18T mod. 0.8 steel pinion. Then there's the 3rd shock modification, that may or may not be worth to perform.

You can't easily take the bounce out of the suspension.

However, if you're interested what one can do with the Hornet by excessively modifying it, please have a look at Pintopower's Super Fly Hornet.

• Like 1

Indeed - if you want the ultimate Hornet, it doesn't get much better than the Super Fly.

Also, if you don't mind replacing everything except the shell, you could have a 4WD Hornet like Terz1 shows in this thread:

http://www.tamiyaclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=76701

Okay, it is a Hornet-bodied Baja Champ, but it is pretty cool.

Or you could take a completely different approach. When people think of upgrades, often one of the first things they think of is more power. However with the Hornet, you very quickly reach the point where more power is too much. You could let your friends overpower their Hornets to the point of uncontrollability, then add a sensible upgrade motor to yours, something like a Sport Tuned or Dirt Tuned, and win races by being the only one who doesn't end up on his roof...

• Like 1