Jake James

Are they worth anything?

Hi Guys

Total noob here.

I've come across a box of Tamiya remote control cars that I was bought many many many years ago. I'm guessing anywhere between 1977 to 1980... (I'm sure someone could probably tell me exactly when these models where available!)

I remember the first one I had was an M4 Sherman Tank. I was quite young at the time and I remember the tracks taking forever to make!

The next one I made was a Rough Rider and for some reason I also have a Sand Scorcher body and front conversion pole. I think I did this as I had the Rough Rider custom sprayed and I didn't want to spoil it! Therefore, the Sand Scorcher was my day to day body which I sprayed black and covered in decals.

The 3rd car was a Williams F1 car which i remember being incredibly quick. again, I sprayed this black as I was more interested in racing them rather than aesthetics. sorry!

The last car I ever made was a Lamborghini and this was painted quite nicely.

I've also got all the original controllers and batteries. Not that I expect the batteries to work... or any of the servo's for that matter.

The last item i have is a Tamiya bag. Bit strange to mention it, but I didn't know if it was of any interest. It's a kind of Square oblong shape made of an olive green canvas material. It's in pretty good condition as it's always been inside a cardboard box with some of the cars inside and its sat in a loft for the last 35 years!

So thats it really. If this generates any interest I will endeavour to see if I can work out how to upload some images of the cars if people want to see them.

Obviously it depends on condition, but are these cars worth anything?

Regards, Jake James

James if you have some photos of it that would help a lot. They are still bought by drivers & collectors. Like you said it will depend on condition. I would be interested in the rough rider & lamborghini models..

Post them on photobucket and the link them to here