Sign in to follow this  
Gravel Wolf

TT02B Neo Scorcher, some questions

Okay, I'm very new to hobby grade RC but have had a bit of experience with a considerably upgraded grasshopper. While it was fun and went very, very fast I am looking for something that is a bit more stable over rougher terrain and so I have bought a RTR neo scorcher with the intention of doing one or two modifications to make it into something of a 4 wheel drive mad bull (big wheels, higher ground clearance etc) but I have one or two things I'm not sure of.

Firstly, the rear shocks seem very slack. The back end of the car will not rise back up after being pushed down unless multiple spacers are used, whereas the front shocks are fine with just the lower spacers installed (had to use both sets of upper spacers for the back) Could they have been set up wrong when built or are there larger spacers that were meant to be fitted for the rear shocks?

Secondly, would it be advisable to fit a 16t pinion having fitted the larger wheels? The motor fitted is a 540 torque tuned so hopefully will have plenty of power (don't care if its a bit slow) but I don't want it to keep overheating or anything.

I'm also interested if there are longer CVA shocks available that would fit the rear of the TT02B. I did figure out a way to raise the clearance further at the back but it could be considered a bit of a bodge and might lead to unforeseen problems when it comes to running the car.

As a side note, I won't be hitting the dirt with this one until late may as it's supposed to be a birthday present (I picked up a novafox to keep me entertained until then) and I have packed it away now but I can always pick up any extra bits I need for it in the meantime.