burakol

Radio for TT01e and TT02

Hi -

I am a public school teacher sponsoring an after school RC club. We were very lucky to have seven Tamiya kits in the form of TT01e's and a single TT02. We need to buy a radio system for them but not sure about the BEC compatibility that Tamiya ESC is requiring. Will the FLYSKY GT2 suffice? Thanks!

Can you tell us the model number(s) of the ESC(s) so that we can advise you better please?

We have the following:

TEU-104bk

TEU-105bk

TBLE-02s

So far this is the radio systems we have

Radiolink RC3

Atomik 2.4ghz not sure what model

A china brand 2.4ghz FHSS

And we have three AM radios that we are not planning on using but may eventually do if we cannot afford to buy new radios:

Tactic AM

AE AM from a TC3

Traxxas TQ

We pretty much need 5 more sets to buy but we are running dry of funds...

The TEU-104BK has no built-in BEC, and is best used with an external BEC, or a receiver that has a BEC built into it.

The other two ESCs have built-in BECs, and can be used with any receiver.

Since the Flysky receivers don't have their own built-in BECs, they would work fine with the BEC-equipped TEU-105BK and TBLE-02S, but you would need a separate BEC if using them with the BEC-less TEU-104BK.

Sorry to but in but what is BEC?

Ripped from Wikipedia, the example given applies to RC planes but the principle is the same for cars: