Jbo6543

Teu-101bk / No Reverse-help!

Hey guys,

I seem to have lost the reverse function on my re-re lunchbox. Since I'm a newbie, with no LHS, I really don't know what to look for or how to troubleshoot the problem.

I use alternating 4200ni-mh packs which work fine and have full capacity in forward. The brakes work on the transmitter, just wont go into reverse. I have the same issue on both battery packs I use. It's a re-re VLB and I've never had any issues with the electrical system. I've looked for this issue on the message boards to no avail.

here's a few things I can think of of the top of my head:

I occasionally will throw it into reverse while going full speed forward to skid on a dirt surface, can this damage the ESC?

I've never submerged the thing in water, but have driven thru puddles or a bit of standing water. would this maybe cause the issue?

Is there possibly a broken wire connection on the ESC for reverse? Since I'm a newbie I dont' know what to look for.

Thanks in advance for any help, you guys are always extremely helpful.

You need to leave the ESC in the neutral position for 2 seconds before attempting to get reverse (or should). It won't go from forward immediately into reverse (this setup is for boats). While the ESC is in the forward mode, the reverse of the transmitter is brakes only. It will go from reverse to forward without a pause, this can eat out gearboxes if you are not careful.

If you check the instruction sheet for the TEU101BK it does have a reverse disable feature. As Gruntfuggly said, set the ESC up again. This MUST be done with 1 wire disconnected from the motor. Leave the transmitter in neutral positon and hit the 'set' button on the ESC (ESC LED will flash), then pull full throttle and press the 'set' button again (ESC LED will do a 'double' flash'), then pull full reverse and press the ESC set button one last time. Turn it all off and reconnect the motor and try it out.

Cheers, Mark