Jump to content

Mark all as read

Photo

Best Transmitter & Receiver For Tamiya Highlift


14 replies to this topic

#1 steponit!

steponit!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:8883

Posted 12 April 2008 - 12:48 PM

Hi good people!

What's the best 4 channel transmitter & receiver for 'Tamiya Highlift' trucks? At the moment I already have (taken from my cars) three Futaba S3003 servos which I intend to use for my "coming soon" truck.... :)

Btw, is the 'stick shift gate' necessary?

Your help/advise, good people, is highly appreciated!!

Thank you

#2 ryanbored

ryanbored

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bournemouth, UK

Posted 12 April 2008 - 12:56 PM

The shift gate is really useful, as once it is set up it means you can't 'cruch' the gears and run the risk of damageing the gearbox. I have an acoms unit and it seems to work fine
Available now: Hand wound crawler motors to your spec
Available now: Axle mounted battery packs with fittings kit for crawlers.
Please PM me for details...

#3 igbandy

igbandy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tamworth Staffs

Posted 12 April 2008 - 02:31 PM

I have said it before and I will say it again, Futaba`s 4EX-FM is a great unit for the Hilift.

#4 mongoose1983

mongoose1983

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2943 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago de Chile

Posted 12 April 2008 - 08:52 PM


As far as I know, any old Futaba 3 channel will do. The shift gate cover will do on 4 channel units, but if you find some old three-chan there is a third stick control at the top right corner of the radio that will allow to control the transmission.
Further than that, the old radios looks much better than any of the newer Futabas!

Have a great weekend y'all!
EB
--

RR+SS+SC+Brat+FAV+Grasshopper+Hornet+Bruiser+BigWig+BF+MB+CB

The BIGWIG owners & enthusiasts S.I.G.

#5 steponit!

steponit!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:8883

Posted 14 April 2008 - 07:42 AM

Thanks a lot for the advises, really appreciate it all!

I was planning to get a Futaba 4EXA transmitter, a R127DF receiver & a set of crystals and add up all that....it cost more than a spanky brand new Futaba 4GWD!! :( ...........oh, well.... it seems that I hafta wait till my next pay day!

Happy racin' yo' all!

#6 DudeWalker

DudeWalker

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Location:Maryland, USA

Posted 14 April 2008 - 11:58 AM

Why would you need crystals and receiver? You can buy the whole set with up to 4 standard servos together.

#7 steponit!

steponit!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:8883

Posted 14 April 2008 - 01:41 PM

Like I mentioned b4, I already got three Futaba S3003 servo's....so I need to get a 4 channel transmitter (such as Futaba 4EXA) , a receiver and a set of crystals to get it going. I'm sorry if I confused you.

#8 mongoose1983

mongoose1983

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2943 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago de Chile

Posted 14 April 2008 - 03:49 PM

Like I mentioned b4, I already got three Futaba S3003 servo's....so I need to get a 4 channel transmitter (such as Futaba 4EXA) , a receiver and a set of crystals to get it going. I'm sorry if I confused you.


As far as I understand the High Lift requires a high-torque servo to do proper steering, so seemingly you'll need to get another one.
Regards,
EB
--

RR+SS+SC+Brat+FAV+Grasshopper+Hornet+Bruiser+BigWig+BF+MB+CB

The BIGWIG owners & enthusiasts S.I.G.

#9 steponit!

steponit!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:8883

Posted 15 April 2008 - 06:14 AM

Thanks for d info, moongoose1983!

May I know what servo you're using?

#10 mongoose1983

mongoose1983

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2943 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago de Chile

Posted 15 April 2008 - 05:21 PM

May I know what servo you're using?


Actually, I got the kit just yesterday. so I will start the building proccess tonight. I don't have a servo for it yet, but judging from what I been told, S-3003 or S-148 servos just won't do for doing the steering here.

I asked the same questions a while ago. See the thread and the input from them now fellow 3-speeders:
http://www.tamiyaclu...showtopic=42107

Good luck with the truck and please share some pictures of it when you can!
Regards,
EB
--

RR+SS+SC+Brat+FAV+Grasshopper+Hornet+Bruiser+BigWig+BF+MB+CB

The BIGWIG owners & enthusiasts S.I.G.

#11 blakeatron

blakeatron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1268 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Windermere, UK

Posted 15 April 2008 - 07:13 PM

i run the standard servo's in my highlifts (all 4) and haven't had any problems yet
If only the boss knew how much it all cost....

#12 mongoose1983

mongoose1983

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2943 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago de Chile

Posted 15 April 2008 - 08:03 PM

i run the standard servo's in my highlifts (all 4) and haven't had any problems yet


Well, that's great news. BTW, have you run it over rocks yet, or just street runs?

Have a great day.
EB
--

RR+SS+SC+Brat+FAV+Grasshopper+Hornet+Bruiser+BigWig+BF+MB+CB

The BIGWIG owners & enthusiasts S.I.G.

#13 Tamiya King

Tamiya King

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WA, USA

Posted 16 April 2008 - 01:39 AM

Or you can do what I did (By help of a TC post) and convert a Traxxas TQ3 with a simple switch and soldier job.

I now have a pistol style and can still shift it.

You can see 2 pictures here in my showroom.

Just look at the last 2 pictures.

http://www.tamiyaclu...a...047&sid=488


It's more than a toy....It's a TAMIYA!

#14 steponit!

steponit!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:8883

Posted 16 April 2008 - 02:35 PM

Cheers, mates!!

Tamiya King.......that's totally AWESOME!!!

#15 billg4

billg4

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1188 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rhode Island

Posted 16 April 2008 - 03:30 PM

more info on modding a TQ3 here http://www.myrcmt.co...hread.php?t=298



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users