Jump to content

Mark all as read

Photo

Talk to me about 4 channel radios for 3 speeders


11 replies to this topic

#1 Percymon

Percymon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brecon Beacons

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:07 AM

With all the talk of Bruisers, and 3 speeds lately thought it would be useful to create a thread about what you need and how it works with the 3 speed cars.

I understand the basics that the left stick needs three up and down planes, for forward and reverse in the 3 different gears - but how is this described when looking at 4 channel radio systems>


For instance i looked at Hobbykings own branded systems - they have two 2.4Ghz systems described as 4 channel with, as best i can see, only two sticks. One is described as V1 mode and the other V2 mode, which i believe is just which stick is throttle (left or right handed if you like). No point buying one of those if the ''throttle'' stick is only single plane and the third and fourth channel operate differently. I know multichannel systems are required for planes and tanks, so what separates them from car controllers ?

So , if buying a 4 channel radio/transmitter what are the technical terms you need to be looking for ?

History last 3.9yrs.. spent a fortune, had a great time - current stable 61 !   Visit My Showroom


#2 fatboyslim

fatboyslim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lincolnshire

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:23 AM

Basically any 2 stick 4 channel controller should work,the V1/V2 difference is which stick is throttle as the throttle is a ratchet not self centreing
The sticks move up/donw and left/right on both sides,the tamiya trucks(lorries) use a 4-channel system and when I had one I had it setup
as left stick was speed and gear right stick was steering
You can get a shift gate for the throttle/gear stick which makes it easier to select the gears whilst running
I was fatboyslim way before that cr*p dj from Hull!!

#3 Percymon

Percymon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brecon Beacons

Posted 01 February 2012 - 11:23 AM

Great - looking arounf UK retailers there are soem reasonably priced 2.4GHz 4 channel systems, etronix around 40

Perhaps not very period looking, unlike Acoms AP-427 for instance, but should be capable enough for the money

History last 3.9yrs.. spent a fortune, had a great time - current stable 61 !   Visit My Showroom


#4 fatboyslim

fatboyslim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lincolnshire

Posted 02 February 2012 - 01:42 PM

Great - looking arounf UK retailers there are soem reasonably priced 2.4GHz 4 channel systems, etronix around 40

Perhaps not very period looking, unlike Acoms AP-427 for instance, but should be capable enough for the money

The ETronix systems are good value obviously not as good as say a Futaba Fasst sysytem,but at 1/4 the price what can you expect
The main problem with a lot of RC systems now are the trim levers,as they're NOT ratchet type
But saying that unless you're after using a model with an MFC then it wouldn't matter
MFC models need ratchet trims so you can use the extra functions
I was fatboyslim way before that cr*p dj from Hull!!

#5 taliesin

taliesin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Helena, Montana

Posted 02 February 2012 - 02:34 PM

Is it possible to use a wheel type radio with multi-functions?

If so, does anyone have a model or brand they could recommend?
Friends don't let friends drive with Tamiya pinions!

#6 TWINSET

TWINSET

    Advanced Member

  • TC_Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10018 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 02 February 2012 - 02:43 PM

Is it possible to use a wheel type radio with multi-functions?



One of the original Spektrum DX3 3 channel radios works as it had a 3 position 3rd channel, but a lot of them now only have a 2 position 3rd.

Check what the 'extra' channels are capable of - if they're only 2 position then they won't be much good.

Netsmith had his Mounty working off either a DX3 or 3.0, the 3pos third channel selected the gearing, the trigger operated the throttle as normal
The great thing about a switched setup was it stayed in the selected gear all the time

You might even be able to mod a Traxxas (TQ3?) wheel set to work, check out http://www.rccrawler.com for mods, 3pos 3rd channel is also handy for dig systems on crawlers.


RC4WD also have it covered; http://store.rc4wd.c...adio_p_676.html

XR4 - A revolutionary advanced radio system at an unbelievable price. The only radio with 3rd and 4th channel 3 position switch, made for DIG swith, winch, light or other custom function.


You might need one of these too http://store.rc4wd.c...ule_p_1441.html

Posted Image

FOR AVATAR INFO CLICK HERE FOR HOW TO ENTER PHOTO COMPS CLICK HERE

FOR PHOTOS IN FORUMS CLICK HERE


#7 SteveAdair

SteveAdair

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Litherland, Liverpool, UK

Posted 03 February 2012 - 09:27 AM

I have a Spektrum DX3C and it has a 3rd aux channel that has 3 positions, I use it for lights, but position 1 would need to be already in 1st gear. Don't know if that helps ?

#8 TWINSET

TWINSET

    Advanced Member

  • TC_Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10018 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 03 February 2012 - 09:49 AM

On sticks, left/right/centred movement all select their own gear so at any time, with sticks, the truck's always in one gear
With a switched selector, position one or three would be 4WD/Low or 2WD/High (depending on channel reversing or preference) with position 2 being 2WD/Med

From the Bruiser page, imagine the left/right axis of the stick as a 3 position switch;
Posted Image

FOR AVATAR INFO CLICK HERE FOR HOW TO ENTER PHOTO COMPS CLICK HERE

FOR PHOTOS IN FORUMS CLICK HERE


#9 taliesin

taliesin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Helena, Montana

Posted 03 February 2012 - 02:29 PM

Thanks for the info, looks like it is just easier maybe to use a stick radio. May be time to broaden my horizons.

I guess I really should be thinking about winch and other accessories too.
Friends don't let friends drive with Tamiya pinions!

#10 Skottoman

Skottoman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santa Cruz, Ca.

Posted 03 February 2012 - 10:58 PM

You can get shift gates for the left stick that make it easy to keep in gear.

Lots of them on ebay for the various radios. I got a carbon fiber one for my Futaba 4YF.

Posted Image

#11 mtbkym01

mtbkym01

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1720 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Australia

Posted 04 February 2012 - 11:49 AM

One of the original Spektrum DX3 3 channel radios works as it had a 3 position 3rd channel, but a lot of them now only have a 2 position 3rd.

Check what the 'extra' channels are capable of - if they're only 2 position then they won't be much good.

Netsmith had his Mounty working off either a DX3 or 3.0, the 3pos third channel selected the gearing, the trigger operated the throttle as normal
The great thing about a switched setup was it stayed in the selected gear all the time

You might even be able to mod a Traxxas (TQ3?) wheel set to work, check out http://www.rccrawler.com for mods, 3pos 3rd channel is also handy for dig systems on crawlers.
RC4WD also have it covered; http://store.rc4wd.c...adio_p_676.html
You might need one of these too http://store.rc4wd.c...ule_p_1441.html

Posted Image

I've got an original DX3 out in the shed, should check that 3rd channel selector, may be about to become very handy :D

You Name It......And I Want It!
If it's Old School, It's Cool
logo_member2.gif


#12 waterbok

waterbok

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 900 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dutch living in Frankfurt, Germany

Posted 04 February 2012 - 06:36 PM

Is it possible to use a wheel type radio with multi-functions?

If so, does anyone have a model or brand they could recommend?


I used the Spektrum dx3e with my bruiser worked great, very easy to setup with the dial adjusters (even for throttle) and has a nice 3ch switch.
The dx3c is nice too but switches not so efficiently placed
Alternativ could be a 'hacked' flysky GT3B, if got one with the 6channel software and it really does crab and 4WS and has channels left for winch and lights.
58035swb 58035lwb 58039 58048 50087 58154 58161 58192 58204
58242 58344 58405 58445 58452 57602 57604 57606 57743 ax90014



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users