Skottoman

Skottoman's VW Samba Project

Yes, I'm doing another build thread... I must be losing my mind!

This is a Maisto VW Samba RC I purchased last christmas, and tossed the chassis because I wanted to use the body for something.

I have yet to know what this will turn into, but I do know it fits an M04L wheelbase perfectly, so I'm building up one of those for it. I ordered some rally tires, and have locked the diff so it should at least get by on semi rough off road.

As far as the shell? I'm going to attempt a weathered, ratty, rusty, junk bucket. Maybe a rally stripped down theme? Toss in a Willy? Roll cage? Plaid seats? Dunno yet... But it's going to be all or partially PERIWINKLE in color! haha :D

For those wondering, I've never done this before, just going to read online how to do things, and pretty much "wing it"... Haha....

Started on the body. Main problem is all the "fake" windows, had to dremel them ALL out. What a pain...

Also started some rusted away portions, and added some dents.

On with the pix!

Cheers,

Skottoman

samba_01.jpg

samba_02.jpg

samba_03.jpg

samba_04.jpg

I like where this is going!

If you Google images for Baja busses, you are sure to come up with plenty of inspiration.

I was very tempted to build a full-size one, but ended up going for a Baja bug instead.

Do keep us posted with your progress!

• Like 1

If you Google images for Baja busses, you are sure to come up with plenty of inspiration.

Oooh! Good Ideas! Perhaps a Willy driven Baja Bus with roll cage? Not sure the M04 is up to the task, but maybe it is?

I think this is the path this VW bus must go!

Thanks for the search idea!

Cheers,Skottoman

After seeing the 2CV, I am prepared to be no less than stunned by the end result! And as mentioned by others, I too really like where this project is going already!

• Like 1

Sweet !! Another project . I love your work & detail .

So this is going to be a fantastic project .

So far this is comming along great .