Sign in to follow this  
dyahipfakta

TL01 trail rig

I have turned my TL01 touring car into more of an offroad trail truck with the addition of the body off of my wild dagger and some 2.2 wheels. I anticipated gearing would be a major issue but took it out to see how it went. Tbh it went better then expected and it ran quite well but temps got far too high too quickly. I cant really add a reduction box because the motor is already too close to the wheels. I cant really change the pinion too much without hacking the gearbox to bits. The only real option is a very high turn motor. 80T would this be sufficient with stock gearing as I am very new to this going slow thing. I usually try to do quite the opposite.

An 80T motor would be great for serious rock crawling activity, but probably far far too slow for a TL-01 chassis.

For woodland trail / roots type running drop a 45T in and see how it goes - if you are used to speed, then anything slower than this will just turn you off the whole thing completely. Anythign more serious in terms of trail and you should look elsewhere in terms of chassis - the TL-01 won't offer enough axle articulation.

No I know it's not an ideal trail rig but thought it was worth a go and tbh it isn't too bad just lacks torque with big wheels stock.

No I know it's not an ideal trail rig but thought it was worth a go and tbh it isn't too bad just lacks torque with big wheels stock.

If you can pick up a 70/80T motor for £10-12 (i think RC4WD sell some at this sort of price level) then give it a go, what do you have to lose ?

Sorry i just don't get the whole crawling thing, but thats just me

Yeah that's why icdont wanna start hacking at the tl01 etc if I find it is quite dull I can just put it back to stock lol

Blacksmith do a budget 70T motor for only £8 posted and I have one fitted to my TL01 based 4x4 Willy project (havent we all got one of those :))