BuggyDad

My DT-03 for fun driving and tinkering

DT-03 build, mildly hopped up for fun driving and resilience to future ill-treatment. 

This is, aside from a stock kit built with my son just the other week (same kit), a first return to rc for me since childhood (80s), so I'm clearly not blazing a trail here but I am making a few changes to stock, generally for functional (or perhaps pedantic and making no real life functional difference, depending on your outlook) rather than blingy reasons. And so I can learn from trying/changing stuff. I studied engineering at university but never worked in it, so I've a geeky interest and (rusty) basic principles but little practical experience. I hope to get a bit more fun and a bit more learning from the build and ongoing changes and to end up with a decent "first" car. 

I thought I'd pop a thread up to keep me focused on doing a nice job of it, and in the hope someone might pipe up with things I haven't thought of. And because I'm impatient for the last bits to arrive...

Broadly my plan is:

• stainless fixings where possible
  • improved suspension pivots & shock mounting ball joints (all that play annoys me)
  • my first experience of brushless motor and lipo
  • add weights to the front end
  • add camber adjustability mainly so I can play with it and learn
  • driver figure
  • wheel options
  • different body shell(s)

• Like 2

So far, I've done the shell:

20211109_225009.jpg

I probably won't add any more stickers, although there might be a temptation. 

I probably will run it with a different sacrificial wing. Just working out what to go for. It seems a reasonable thing to do with a few options out there, some for as little as £3, and it'll be interesting to see what they do to the look of it.

I also have another very different shell for it, but I won't sort that out til I've got it running. 

• Like 3

Last bit of critical shopping arrived. 

20211112_135744.jpg