Sign in to follow this  
James76G

Nitro engine - help with the basics

While I decide what direction to go with my Tamiyas (Nissan King Cab and Monster Beetle) I have picked this up locally. It's an HPI Nitro MT2

I have no experience of nitro myself, but this was £free so I thought it a great opportunity to learn. 

It hasn't been touched for 10 years and while the engine turns over and appears to have good compression, the carb is stuck. By which I mean the rotating barrel doesn't move, so currently it's stuck on idle. So questions:

1. What is the best way to unstick it? I've taken the carb off and it's currently soaking in some alcohol but all other suggestions welcome. 

2. What fuel to buy. 16% Optifuel? 20%?

3. Glow plug works when connected to a battery, so presumably should be good to start it. Or do they go bad after time?

Thanks in advance. 

Hpi Nitro MT2.jpg