RichieRich

Kyosho Outrage buggy

Hey guys. If you can believe it, this is my first build thread. I figured I would start a couple since I literally do not have any spare time with full-time work, full-time school and a wife + 2 teen daughters. This way, I have an excuse for slow updates. :D

So this car is a Kyosho Outrage which is a cheap-o Ultima and it actually belongs to my little brother. It was his first r/c car and he has no time to do any restorations since he also works full time but has like 47 kids. I had started doing a bit of a restoration years ago. I replaced the suspension arms, gear case and added some weird purple shock towers I had found. One of the huge issues is that the chassis is cracked in three places. I finally have a replacement chassis plus some other nos parts. So, this will go back to ALMOST stock with some performance updates. The shocks are AE gold shocks which may stay. I have not decided. I do have some period correct Duratrax gold shocks but they leak like a sieve and I think my brother may actually want to drive this since his boys are getting close to the age for driving r/c cars. Also, it's kinda dusty. :D

outrage-start.jpg

• Like 7

I had the stadium truck version of this as a teenager, I have to say it was the most disappointing soul destroying rc I’ve ever owned. Chassis’s used to crack near the motor mount, over and over and over again. The gearbox wore out rapidly. The shocks where hopeless and everything was smaller, weaker and less reliable than all the Tamiyas I’d owned so far and since. The money wasted on this thing, the little I had as a teenager pretty much put me off kyosho for years.

the nitro version was quite popular and the engine mount seemed to keep the same chassis as the electric had together. But the nitro engine was junk, you’d need a new piston and sleeve on a regular basis.