ThunderDragonCy

FF01-LA EVO

This is a confluence of things that have been sloshing around in my head for a while.

First let it be said: I LOVE my FF01. Hands down my favourite on road car. But I am a designer, and I like to tinker, so think of this as a bit What If retcon of 1990s Tamiya, a little bit "how far can I take this?", a little bit love letter to the FF01. 

Enough of the words. Behold! My half finished CAD model of unproven ideas! 

411466594_FF01FRPChassisSpaceEnvelopeforLongitudinalShortyDevelopmentV4.thumb.JPG.8233a56c7a6da95c1f0d21c29742f2f4.JPG

I have been playing around with ideas for an improved chassis for my FF01 for a while with more battery placement options and a full length skinny top deck, hopefully for more flex and grip. 

I have also been playing around on and off with a replacement gear case design, but defeated by high price of production. We'll, I finally found a place in the UK that has dropped pricing recently on MJF prints, so I finished the design of replacement gear case. These are now almost impossible to get in decent condition, and it's very wet here so I wanted something interesting to do at the weekend. Here it is

1873339594_FF01UpgradeGearcaseAssemblyV5.thumb.JPG.115571f74b09d90f1a90afd7796dbf6e.JPG

1785292477_FF01UpgradeGearcaseAssemblyV5SideView.thumb.JPG.5bbe697b0eda6fd6cf1a4053be14e300.JPG

It isn't a complete reproduction. The limited gearing and weird motor pinion access on the original could be improved in my (clearly over confident) opinion. It *should* just mount up with all the interfaces and running gear. I guess we will find out with a test print. You can see in the second pic with the pinion cover transparent that there is a 33t pinion on the 71t spur in there. Currently biggest pinion is 27t. Fingers crossed this works. If it does I will do a group buy thing for you FF01 fan's out there.