Mh1986

Help needed Abs slurry

Hi, I'm very new to modifying plastic hard bodies and I'm currently struggling to make a decent abs slurry for filling gaps and reinforcing joints. I'm trying to stretch a grasshopper body to fit a DT03 chassis. I've tried using 25g part sprues in 50ml of acetone and ended up with a PVA type liquid with lumps that don't dissolve. I tried again yesterday same quantities but with new styrene sheet and ended up with a putty like blob sat underneath the acetone. Any advice would be much appreciated 

PXL_20230505_143526411.jpg

• Like 1

I’d say it is a bit wet. Throw more plastic in or take out some of your liquid. You’ve got the right idea going I think. 
Hopefully someone with more experience will weigh in. 

This is what happened when I tried with acetone, I wonder if actual MEK or PlastiWeld would give better results but in fairness when I used it it was fine. 

Edited by ad456

If it was too wet would it not be really thin? If I try to stir it, it moves around like a blob in  the liquid it doesn't seem to want to mix. Would replacing the acetone make any difference?

You can just use the softened ABS as glue, that’s what I did and it stuck well when I tested it on other leftover sprues. 
I’m not certain it will mix “properly” when using acetone, this is probably due to my inexperience/lack of knowledge. 

• Like 1

Thanks for the advice everyone, it looks so simple on YouTube. I will test it on some scraps first.

• Like 1

Made a third batch, same quantities, this time only using tamiya part sprues, no styrene sheet and it works perfectly. Next question, can any one recommend a filler that will work with the abs. I just want a fine skim over the top to smooth out the imperfections 

PXL_20230514_135643059.jpg

• Like 1

I wonder if the sheets are a different type of styrene as the sprues as I used sheet too. 

6 hours ago, Mh1986 said:

filler that will work with the abs

Milliput.

• Like 2

On 5/14/2023 at 9:57 PM, alvinlwh said: