Tamiyastef

M-05 & M-08 duo rebuild/build

I've never done a build thread before but I thought it might be interesting to combine the needed rebuild of my M-05 with the new build of my M-08. Both M-chassis but entirely different; FWD versus RWD, basic kit versus "competition oriented" kit, shortest versus longest wheelbase.

These are the kits I started with:

20220209_210125.jpg 20230901_134552.jpg

As some of you may already know, a few weeks ago I was "smart" enough to drive my M-05 right into a metal post bolted to the ground. No visible damage except some chips of the paint on the body and the car still functioned but it sounded horrible afterwards...

Apparently the high speed gear set spur was the first to give:  20230819_135821.jpg

As I love driving my M-05 for Racing by Post a rebuild had to be done in the very near future and so I started this duo rebuild/build thread.

The M-05 was disassembled and cleaned in the ultrasonic cleaner. Needed and with good result IMO as evidenced by these before/after pictures:

20230819_135909.jpg20230819_135845.jpg20230901_112159.jpg

PS: the chassis part in the middle picture above only looks silver, it's just black as is the rest of the chassis.

Now just rebuilding the M-05 with the already installed hop-ups wasn't enough, I'd rather install some more blue bling :D and other options i.e. to make the use of square batteries possible...

20230901_134426.jpg 20230901_134201.jpg And yes, against better judgement I'll install a brushless combo, mostly because it's blue... 

The M-08 will stay mostly stock, no upgrading to "R-spec" or similar. Just these options: 20230901_134742.jpg

What's in the box is the usual Tamiya tools 20230901_140250.jpg with "concept" zipties :D

Just by unpacking you can feel (and see) the difference in the plastics between the M-05 and M-08, the latter having an almost matt finish 20230901_135916.jpg