Sign in to follow this  
Dan DT-02

Stock Upgrade

Hi Everyone,

I have been using the stock motor in my Dt-02 for a while but cant seem to get much speed. I was looking to upgrade but i don't know what to get. Sport Tuned, Dirt Tuned, or go brushless.

Any suggestions are good but i really want to try and keep the costs low.

Currently using the stock TEU 101 Speed controller too.

Thanks

I have a MambaMax 4600Kv brushless combo in my DT02MS, 17T steel pinion. It runs well, temperatures are good, speed is great, runtimes are ~30min with a 4000mAh Li-Po 7.4v.

In the 2nd DT02 (My son's Sand Viper) there's a 27T Dirt Tuned and TEU101BK, 19T steel pinion. Goes quick enough for him to try to control.

Both of my DT02s have ball diffs fitted and full bearings.

Ok That motor seems quite pricey but the dirt tuned sounds good. Problem is iv read other post saying that the sport tuned is more fun than the dirt.

I would recommend either the sport or dirt tuned. They both work fine with the teu-101 ESC and won't overheat. The battery run times are very good and the improvement in speed from a silver can motor is quite noticeable. You will enjoy either one and neither cost much.

My 2 cents worth.

Also consider that batteries and how they are charged can affect performance.

Also consider that batteries and how they are charged can affect performance.

Whats the best way to charge? Slow charge, fast charge and car charge are my options.

Butler is dead right.

The Sport tuned has become my go to motor. I pretty much put it in everything.

It's affordable and a little faster than standard silver at top speed but it's real advantage seems to be torque, in that respect I find it a lot better than the silver cans.