Sign in to follow this  
Kevin_Mc

My M04XL project

this is my first project thread, it's nothing ground breaking but i fancy posting it up anyway incase others want to do the same conversion and need pointers. i know i was unsure of exactly what was required for the conversion.

Basically, i wanted a RWD touring car chassis to make a change from my three 4x4 on-road cars. the only conditions were that it was to all Tamiya parts for the basic chassis, to not be too complicated with DIY parts and for it to not cost a small fortune.

i started with an M04L BMW ZM3 roadster chassis from TWINSET

it arrived to me in good condition overall, with no shocks and a little dirty (just as described)

BMW01.jpg

and with a stabiliser kit and motor heat sink fitted

BMW02.jpg

so, after a strip down, re-grease and the gearbox built back up (with a ball diff in it) i went on eBay and bought a new M04L F parts tree for the spacer and a TL01 chassis to steal the wishbones from it.

IMG_4377.jpg

with the new parts tree -

IMG_4379.jpg

i decided to use the new chassis parts that arrived as the original one was a little scratched from general use so off it came from the tree

IMG_4380.jpg

so with the three parts to the chassis built up it went from this

IMG_4374.jpg

IMG_4373.jpg

to this -

IMG_4388.jpg

IMG_4382.jpg

i decided to get a shell to match the drivetrain of the chassis - its an HPI Porsche 996 Turbo shell (which i know is 4x4) but i'm going to make a GT2 rear wing from styrene. For those who don't know about the GT2 it's a RWD & stripped out version of the Turbo (a similar idea to what the GT3 is to the normal Porsche).

the shell fits nicely over the chassis now although i've still to add the body posts and TL01 wishbones to make it sit properly

IMG_4383.jpg

and looking in the wheel arches, the wishbone mounts line up roughly in the right place

IMG_4384.jpg

IMG_4385.jpg