Sign in to follow this  
Ralphypants

Motor up grade for 2012 Sand Rover

I'm looking to hot up the Sand Rover, i have a Johnson 4 slot silver can motor thats ok but i like the idea of a brushless. What is the most sensible choice without destroying the car. My guess is anymore than 3300 kv or 12T will blow the gears ect. I am new to all this so bear with me. Advise on an esc would help too.

Many thanks hope to hear from you soon.

I have just put a 9T ezrun system in mine and I have to say it is a bit much, before that I had a 19T brushed motor. The 19T was good but still not fast enough for me so I would reccomend somewhere in the middle?.

There are some good tips in this thread,.......

http://www.tamiyaclub.com/forum/index.php?...c=66438&hl=

I have a video of it in the snow with the 19T brushed motor in this thread,.......

http://www.tamiyaclub.com/forum/index.php?...c=65762&hl=

I would say that a ezrun 13T would be ideal IMO . Slighty faster than a sport tuned but not over doing it in a light car like the sand rover .Just get a combo deal and your good . Many SRB owners ( sand scorcher ect ) fit this motor as the srb is over powered with anything more .

I'm looking to hot up the Sand Rover, i have a Johnson 4 slot silver can motor thats ok but i like the idea of a brushless. What is the most sensible choice without destroying the car. My guess is anymore than 3300 kv or 12T will blow the gears ect. I am new to all this so bear with me. Advise on an esc would help too.

Many thanks hope to hear from you soon.

The gears are fine with the power. You could bolt crazy high Kv motors into it if gearing allowed, but you only have choice of 17 tooth and 19 tooth pinions. This limits the DT02 to a maximum of around 4500Kv with the standard sized wheels.

Be sure to ditch the aluminium kit supplied pinion and use steel RW Racing (ARW3200-17) or Robinson Racing (RRP0170) 32dp pinions. Aluminium pinions wear quickly and chew up the spur gear.