Vrdetailing

First truck advice

I have made around 16 tamiya models over the past two years and been loving it.

I have decided to purchase my first tractor truck ( Ford Aeromax) form Banzai Hobbies

it's my first time using them.

I am unsure on colour yet but thinking burgundy or flip gold.

I an not going for realism or scale operation but a bit of different fun on the Tarmac

Question 1 has anyone used one of these

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GT-POWER-RC-Car-LED-Lighting-System-2-0-1-10-Drift-On-Road-Yokomo-Tamiya-/121178569413?pt=UK_ToysGames_RadioControlled_JN&hash=item1c36ce3ac5

Question 2 has anyone run a brushless system in there tractor truck

Any other advice is much appreciated

I will of corse do a build thread when it turns up

Thanks in advance

Hi,

I've built up 2 tractor trucks and 2 trailers. There are build threads in this forum.

For your questions,

1- I have not used that exact lighting set, but you can pretty much put whatever you want in these trucks. Plenty of room for lights, and such. The Tamiya MFC01 unit is pretty complex, and takes up a lot of room, but you get sounds and more functionality.

2- I can't think of any reason to put a brushless system in these. With the 3 speeds, they're plenty fast as is with stock motor. Most people put higher turn motors in for slower speed. I used t a 55T motor. Even then, they can really get rolling in 3rd gear. If you put a Sport Tuned motor in, I'm pretty sure you'd end up flipping it on it's side. They're not the most stable things!

These truck builds are great fun, and even if you're not going scale, they're still totally customizable.

Check out my build threads for more detailed information on what you can do with them.

Cheers,

Skottoman

SCANIA 470 - http://www.tamiyaclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=67179

KNIGHT HAULER - http://www.tamiyaclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=65133

REEFER TRAILER - http://www.tamiyaclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=67409