Sign in to follow this  
Tizer

M04RR Project - Rear motor M04M Miata

I want to share with you all my Tamiya M04RR project. I have posted about it before in my TC showroom, but it has evolved a lot since.
You can find my old showroom entries here: http://tamiyaclub.com/showroom_model.asp?cid=96268&id=19827

The M04 has always been the black sheep of the M-chassis family in my experience. That makes it all the more fun to be quick with one. I had been racing my bodged RR conversion since early 2011, and every year it proved to be really quick and easy to drive on our track. I originally build the M04RR before Tamiya came out with the M06. The new M06 proved I was on to something with the rear motor layout. Since our club was growing a lot in 2013, and our annual big race weekend was coming up I had to step up my game and rebuild my poor worn out M04RR.

I started from scratch with a brand new M04 kit I got cheap of a friend. I also had another friend draw up some 3D drawings for a simple adapter to convert the M04 to RR without the need of modifying any part. Just add some screws and spacers, and it works. The new car would be build using every single bit I had always wanted on my old M04RR but never bought. I will skip all the evolution of the old car, and go straight into the build of the new car.
I already had a body which I barely used and handled great. I have reused it for the new car. Its a Tamiya Miata with a Kamtec spoiler on HPI stands.
DSC_49761.jpg
Here you can see it when it was brand new, next to my FWD Sakura D3 touringcar project. I took more pictures that night, but I can't find them anywhere...

I bought a bunch of hopups and special parts for this build, and I will try to explain why I used those specific parts so you guys have an idea of what this chassis is build for.