Sign in to follow this  
GTodd

801XT Brushless!

I’ve had this truck since it was first released. I absolutely freaking love this thing. I originally ran it at revolution raceway in California, one of the tracks that the Tamiya Drivers developed it on!!!! I remember the first time I saw Lutz driving it while I was bashing around the track in my 3.3 Revo. The thing handled the triples and corners with aplomb, I had to have one.

Mine was originally fitted with a .28 LRP. That engine would rip, but I am not very good at tuning these things. So years of frustration finally won out. Prior to completion of the conversion the last time I drove the truck was summer of 2012 when my son was about 4 months old. I almost sold the truck a few times to fund other projects. Im glad I didn’t!!!! Ill keep it forever due to the bond I have with it and my little man.

The truck has the short arms from the performance package and associated hardware, aluminum chassis reinforcements, and the 801X buggy hub carriers as they give more caster. The truck is set up via Lutz’s set up guide and Tamiya USA article here. http://www.tamiyausa.com/articles/trf801xt-building-tips-587?category_id=7&type=article

This set up provides a great starting point for any track, and is a blast bashing around the yard and street.

Current set up: Hitec metal gear steering servo, RC Products Design brushless conversion, 1/8 Sideways 2200kv castle brushless system, Durrango receiver box, proline wheels and tires for the street and back yard bashing, AYKs for track work, And a 4S LIpo

This set up ROCKS. The power is amazing, I love not having to tune the engine based on the weather. I would say that im hitting about 40MPH down my street, 6S would be way too crazy.

Up next I plan on trying to see what lossi, Durrango, etc parts fit. Tamiya has stopped support for these beasts, a shame!!!

pics arent working, ill fix in a bit

• Like 1

Nice car, shame Tamiya pulled the plug on this chassis.