GTodd

TRF 801X

Happy 4th of July weekend! So I have had this sitting NIB for a couple years, life and time has just got ahead of me. I'm starting the build now. I'm not a professional racer, I will go to the local tracks and racer here and there, but I'm more of a basher. I love Tamiya's and that's why I'm using this buggy for my entry into the 1/8 buggy world. The design is a few years old but it can still hold its own. I have a 801xt that is now brushless that has no problem holding its own against newer models. I haven't decided on what servos to use. Ill be using the pipe engine combo that I ran in the XT before I converted it to brushless.  I'm going to use the set up example from the Tamiya website by Lutz http://www.tamiyausa.com/articles/feature.php?article-id=588#.V3a_U4-cHD4.... anyone a painter out there who can duplicate that paint job for me???? The engine is a 28 LRP which is a beast!!!!!!

Anyway. Here are the first few pictures. Itll be a SLOW build

Plastic still on, I'm not a NIB collector!!!

IMG_20160701_112605987.jpg pic upload

The parts get to see the light of day again!!!

IMG_20160701_113026.jpg free upload image

A better look at all of the wonderful Tamiya goodness!!!

IMG_20160701_113136.jpg host image online

XT Big Brother

IMG_20160701_113449.jpg screengrab

• Like 2

I will be watching this with interest.

This one of my favorite Tamiya's, lots of good build info over on rctech from factory racer Ryan Lutz. Good servos are the Hitec 7955TG or Tower Hobby TS170 (same servo)

Ill start tomorrow with the differentials. Built to Lutz's specs. Anyone have the link to Xtreme RC's review,of the 801x, I cant find it.

I'll show the build phase of the differentials in a bit. I always wondered what the differences were between the XT and X. Here are two chassis side by side. They are the standard kit ones not the light weight. The Gold is the truggy, Black the Buggy.

IMG_20160702_130236.jpg

• Like 1