yogi-bear

I took the plunge and bought a 3D printer

I thought I'd share my successes and failures of owning my own 3D printer. Budget wise, like many people, I didn't want to spend too much, but the less you spend, the less features you get. However on the plus side, if can handle a very steep learning curve, you can gain a lot of experience from a cheaper 3D printer. I used this idea when I bought a small chinese cnc machine, and from what I learnt from that I built a better one.

On the 3D print side, I am a total newbie, having never done, let alone seen a 3D print and I can't do 3D modelling, I just know it looks really cool! As a technical person, I'm not too bad, I did manage to build my own cnc machine ( I sourced parts but wired and programmed it myself)  and a vac former. And I can use programs like illustrator pretty well. So I figured with enough perseverance I'd be able to master 3D printing and learn how to 3D model my own parts.

So after doing lots of online research and working out my budget was around $600 AUD I settled on a CTC printer. This is essentially a clone of a  Makerbot Replicator2. I bought this one for a couple of reasons:

1. It had dual printing heads and this looked really cool

2. It had a heated bed, many cheaper ones don't

3. It took a SD card

4. Matman also bought one, so I knew I have some else to chat about/trouble shoot with. I have a friend who has a wahoo printer and it meant I could also compare the two.

5. It reviewed very well in a number of places.

6. It had a decent build space for the money at 225 mm x 145 mm x 150 mm

7. Its capable of printing PLA and ABS (and probably some other materials too)

The CTC is a Fuse Deposition Manufacturing (FDM) printer, using heat to melt a filament wire and building up an object bit by bit. Setting it up was actually pretty easy, the biggest issue being many of the screws where loose. It also came with a 1 kg roll of ABS filament.

Recent-Buys_-6.jpg