Sign in to follow this  
guitarman

Newby Needs Advice

Hi Guys

I have just joined the forum and I need to ask a few questions please.

My first car kit is the Tamiya Pajera Rally which I have not started yet.

Do I need to upgrade any of the stock parts if so which ones and where do I get them from?

Also looking on youtube there are lots of different bodies people fit to a chassis.

How do I know if a chosen body will fit my chassis and are the bodies available for the cc01 kits.

My second kit will be an on road model there are a lot to choose from.

I will not be racing any of the models they are just for the pleasure of building them and running

them round the garden and in the house.

Thank you

Alan

Hi Guitarman, like you I am also new to RC cars, after extensive research, I built my Pajero rally with a set of ball races, in place of the plastic bearings, as advised on ALL forums.

Best place to buy is RC Bearings, UK based and they know bearings.

Everything else is suck it and see, mine now has a homebrew four lingk rear suspension setup, and a bit more steering via forum advice and knowledge...

I would advise bearings essential, and everything else, replace with better parts when needed........most aftermarket hop-ups are bling and not really needed.

Tyres in the kit are pretty good if you want to stay on hard surface, but they are too hard for crawling, even light stuff, they will let you down, KRT Kongs are the tyre of choice for immediate improvements, around 96mm are about the limit before body mods are needed. Even 96 will strike the body on full articulation.

Next upgrade should be a good higher turn motor......do your research and you will find a lot of info for the CC01.

Best of luck, the CC01 is a great trail, light crawler rig and you will be surprised at where you can go with it.