Sign in to follow this  
TOG12

First kit?

Hi guys, I’m fairly new to RC and have a couple of RTRs. However I’m looking to build my first kit now, I like the look of the MF01-X chassis. Would this be a good idea to or might this be a bit tricky for someone with little experience?

14 minutes ago, TOG12 said:

Hi guys, I’m fairly new to RC and have a couple of RTRs. However I’m looking to build my first kit now, I like the look of the MF01-X chassis. Would this be a good idea to or might this be a bit tricky for someone with little experience?

Yes, no, maybe :)

Really depends. Are you happy following instructions. And do you have somewhere to build it and be prepared to spend the hours on it. I’ve not built that chassis, but struggle to believe it’s that hard. Some suitable tools will come in handy too. 

If you are worried a 2wd platform will have less bits over a 4wd one. Not meaning easier, just quicker to assemble. 

• Like 1

Having built the DT-03, and comparing it's manual to that of the MF-01X, I'd say that if you can build one, you can build the other. The MF-01X has more pieces being 4WD, but assembly is no more difficult, only more time consuming. Both should be well within the capabilities of most people, beginners included.

• Like 1

It all depends on how handy you are. 

If you can build IKEA chairs without one leg pointing up to the ceiling, I'd say you an RC kit isn't too difficult.  But if you are a type of a person who needs help with putting in ink cartridges in a printer, it might be better to stick with RTR.  Everybody is different.  

• Like 1

I've built a few in the last year although not the MF01, but it looks to me to be similar complexity to the other entry level kits so should be a pretty straightforward and enjoyable build.

I find the rere kits are more fiddly than modern kits, check out a Boomerangs uprights compared to TT02B for example.