Terz1

Repairing plastic hard bodies - what to use

Hi there. I bought a second hand rc car which has a hard body. The main problem is the area surrounding one of the body mounts. It's basically a big hole which the body post pokes through (much further than it should) and the body just rests further down the post. I'm going to get some styrene sheets to reinforce the body in other cracked areas. I was wondering what filler do people tend to use?

Thanks for any help

Depends on place and size off the hole, i sometimes cut the area around a hole simultaneously with a piece of sheet.

Glue the sheet into place with cut out bits of the hard body dissolved into glue. and reinforce from the inside with some more sheet if necessary.

For small holes, I like to use superglue with filler (backing powder works nice)

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Thanks Waterbok. I'm completely new to hard body repair so really appreciate the advice. The picture below shows the worst of the body damage. As you can see were the body post mounts on the bonnet of the mud blaster the hole is huge and has cracks coming from it. So you say it's best to cut around this hole with the styrene simultaneously. Which thickness do you tend to use 1.5mm, 2mm?

I'll be using the superglue and baking powder technique too. Thanks!

20181015_143243.thumb.jpg.2e319dd046d2ca580e2ad52837fdcd30.jpg

• Like 1

I use superglue + baking soda method too.  It's good for filling up areas.