Sign in to follow this  
^Smith^

Radios - Receivers - ESC - Servos - Newbie Questions

Good Day all.

Newbie question... Cars and trucks---I have some experience, but it's 35 years old.

All of my electronics are Futaba. (the old ones that had crystals) As I Understand it now, crystals are no longer used. That said, I see a number of 2-ch transmitters offered: Spektrum, Redcat, HPI, Associated, Tactic...and I'm sure many others

So, what do I need to buy? Does all of the electronic components need to be from the same manufacturer? Can you use, for example, a Spektrum Transmitter with an ESC from another company? How is the transmitter "married" to the receiver without a crystal?  Sorry if these are very fundamental questions!

Could anyone provide me with some recommendations. Not racing right now, just getting "my feet wet" right now. Just need reliability. 

Thanks all!

ESCs and servos are independent.  You can use any ESC.  Receivers are brand-specific.  

For those who will have more than 1 car, I recommend looking up the price of additional receivers.  As for how it works, my limited understanding is that receivers and transmitters hop between channels.  Both are capable of using multiple channels.  If you were on CH1 then CH4, then CH12......, and hop randomly in one second, you are not on any of the 40 channels continuously.  How they do this is different from brand to brand.  Which is why it is brand-specific.  At least, so I think.  

Functions are largely similar.  

[1] Cheapest.  

At about $45, Flysky GT3C is the cheapest.  It can have up to 10 cars.  Each additional receiver costs about $5.50.  Flysky is generally reliable.  It has basic fuctions like servo reverse, end point adjustment, trim, expo, dual rate.  Equipping 10 cars would cost about $100.

[2] A bit more than the cheapest.