Sign in to follow this  
Mad Ax

Racing a Novafox - what's necessary?

My entry into this year's Iconic Revival has been approved in the 84-88 2WD class, so it looks like I'll be building my NIB Novafox this year.

The track is outdoor astroturf and takes place in the height of the British summer, so experience tells me it will be 31 degrees and dry as a bone, and also torrential downpours and freezing cold.  Oddly enough last year's Revival managed both in the same weekend.  And still we raced, we few hardcore who stuck it out :D

Tyre-wise I'll be asking the track locals and going with their recommendations.  It's a new venue this year so I've no experience with the track, but TBH the Schumacher tyres that I run most years will probably be fine.

I understand the Novafox comes with a sway bar in the kit?  So that's one less thing I need.

Are there any known weak parts I should stock up on before I go?  I don't have a backup car for that class and it could be a dull day if I wreck it in first practice (I have done this before...)

Any other mods or hop-ups I should consider?  I'll be racing against RC10s and Schumacher Topcats (as well as other Foxes, Hornets, Ultimas, even some Mardave Meteors) so chances of hitting the A final are very slim, especially as I've re-graded my racing ability from 5/10 to 3/10 following last year's debacle in which I finished last in both finals basically through driving like a total novice.  (In fairness I've raced 4 times in the last 2 years and I was never particularly good when I raced weekly).

Period-correct modifications and hop-ups are allowed and wheel/tyre choice is open, provided they are 1:10 buggy wheels/tyres.  I'm up for considering anything at all, from plain Jane box-stock with some modern rubber right up to custom lightweight plate chassis and all manner of goodness.  Throw me out some ideas and inspire me to build something great :D