Clodbusterfan

Upgrading a Blackfoot while building it.

I am going to build a Tamiya Blackfoot but want to upgrade the parts while I am building. Such as all the parts that may break easily, ball bearings, shocks, ESC, motor, and the drivetrain. What do you guys recommend for me?  Sorry I am a newbie!

I was thinking this motor but not sure on an ESC... any ideas?

https://www.tamiyausa.com/shop/electronics/rc-motor-23t-brushed-540-2/rs540-sport-tuned/

Is the drivetrain necessary since this motor is only a 23T? I was thinking the MIP super ball diff if its needed....

Thank you guys for all the help!

If it’s OG, replace the shocks with ReRe shocks. 

i would also replace the rear drive hubs with alloy. 

i have a million others things that can help. Ask away...

Terry

The MIP will let you go brushless, but I wouldn’t go more than 2250 or so...

I dont need to go brushless. This will be a brand new Blackfoot straight out of the box. What do you recommend for an ESC if I use that Tamiya motor? Do I need aftermarket shocks for this guy? Should I buy ball bearings from tower hobbies? What else needs to be done? I am willing to put the money into it. I don't need it super fast just a little better than stock.

OK, upgrading a ReRe BF for street and backyard bashing.

Ball bearings all around.  The BF uses 1150 bearings in all places except inside the Transmission.  You'll need (2) 850 bearings there.  Buy lots of extra 1150 bearings for your wheels.  As they get dirty and worn, you'll want to replace them.

1.  ReRe shocks are OK.  You can upgrade but no need, IMO.
2.  ESC = the included Tamiya TBLE02 is fine for #3, and can do brushless in the future.  It is not waterproof, so if you need that, look into HobbyWing.
3.  Black Sports Tuned brushed motor.  If you want brushless, no more that about 2250.