Mechanic AH

My First and Last Blitzer Beetle. FInally Completed.

Sorry if people have seen photos of this around. Since I’ve got a little break today I thought I’d share some thoughts on this build I completed a few weeks ago. I’m going to try and run it this weekend as I want to see what it’s like. Quite a longer post and I hope you guys don’t mind.

I’m not a fan of the BB, to be honest. It was a kit I bought late last year because I thought of my aunt—she had a VW 1300 and I rode in that car a lot when my parents would leave me with her for the summer. So it’s a tribute and impulsive purchase.

I was very hesitant about purchasing this because I’m somewhat new to the hobby and the idea that it’s going to be my second Tamiya wasn’t compelling. Aside from that, I haven’t really worked on RC cars that much so a hard body shell sounds quite intimidating—to work on and paint. And, I couldn't just do the BB as box art because it looks too cute for me.

Prior to this build I worked on two Kyosho re-res and so when I opened this one up and inspected all the parts, design, and engineering, I was quite disappointed. I wasn’t expecting it to be on the same level, but it didn’t even come close in my opinion (for a $60 USD difference from a Scorpion). It was more like a toy. And so, it took a back seat for a bit. The one reason I ended up finishing it is due to my philosophy on kits/builds—to never move on to the next until the current one is done. And my next build is a Super Astute and I’m more excited about that one.

I wanted this to be more personal so I did some customization. There are little details here and there and some of the limiting factors were time and money. It was quite time consuming and something I probably don’t want to get back into for a while—because I just want to build other kits. Mentally, I’m fulfilled and say I did it and so this is my first and last Blitzer Beetle!